Our Team

Rev. Richard Hall

I am the Superintendent Minister for the Shropshire and Marches Circuit with particular  responsibility for Bayston Hill Methodist Church.

I grew up in the South Yorkshire mining village of Askern, near Doncaster. After leaving school I took a degree in physics at the University of Sussex and then worked for 6 years in the co-operative movement, mostly with “common ownership”  businesses.

I studied for the ministry at the Queens College, Birmingham and have spent the last  20 years in Wales, serving in Buckley & Deeside, Swansea & Gower (where I was also Superintendent and University Chaplain) and most recently with the Wales Training Network, based in Wrexham.

I am  married to Jayne and we have 2 daughters and 2 dogs.

I have kept a blog since 2002 and am an active user of ‘social media’. You can find me on Twitter as @richardhall

Church Office – 01743 874923
Home number 01743 355326
email –  revrichardhall@gmail.com


Revd Silas Wood


I am the minister for Belle Vue, Bayston Hill, Greenfields and Moreton Mill Methodist Churches.

I grew up living in Birmingham, then Felixstowe in Suffolk, before moving to London at 19 then to Luton in Bedfordshire 3 years later. I studied for a degree in Analytical Chemistry there, before going on to train as a primary school teacher. 

In 2006 I began studying for the ministry part time with the Eastern Region Ministry Course whilst continuing teaching.

After finishing college in 2010 I came to Shrewsbury with my wife Sue. We love the town with it’s historic buildings, river, nearby countryside, and the buzz of creative energy reflected in the many different festivals and events that happen here.

In my spare time I enjoy going to the gym, cycling, playing badminton, photography, reading Terry Pratchett or crime thrillers, and walking with our Border Terrier.








Irene Williams  is our Senior Church Steward.





Other Church Stewards are (from left to right below) : Sue Medlicott, Margaret Greenwood, Jennifer Burton, Chris Kennett, Irene Williams, Andy Carson, Dilys Jones, Chris Holman (not shown).